How Many Awards Has Mariska Hargitay Won For ‘Law & Order: SVU?’

How Many Awards Has Mariska Hargitay Won For ‘Law & Order: SVU?’


Mariska Hargitay is a household name thanks to her iconic role as Olivia Benson on “Law & Order: SVU,” a primetime powerhouse that has defied television’s odds for over two decades. With a fan base as dedicated as those of shows like “NCIS,” Hargitay’s portrayal of Benson continues to captivate audiences season after season. But just how much recognition has Hargitay garnered for her performance? Let’s take a closer look at the awards and nominations she has received throughout her tenure on “Law & Order: SVU.”

Golden Globe Glory: A Win and a Nomination

Mariska Hargitay won the Golden Globe in 2005 for her outstanding performance as Olivia Benson. She was honored with the award for Best Performance by an Actress in a Television Series, Drama. That year, she triumphed over strong contenders such as Edie Falco (“The Sopranos”), Christine Lahti (“Jack & Bobby”), Jennifer Garner (“Alias”), and Joely Richardson (“Nip/Tuck”). Hargitay’s talent shone brightly amidst fierce competition.

Four years later, Hargitay received another nomination in the same category. However, in 2009, the Golden Globe went to Anna Paquin for “True Blood,” who prevailed over Hargitay, Sally Field (“Brothers & Sisters”), January Jones (“Mad Men”), and Kyra Sedgwick (“The Closer”). Although Hargitay didn’t take home the award that year, her consistent recognition speaks volumes about her enduring performance.

Primetime Emmy Triumph: A Win and Multiple Nominations

In 2006, Mariska Hargitay won the Primetime Emmy Award for Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series for her role in “Law & Order: SVU.” Despite the show premiering in 1999, her first nomination came in 2004, and she was subsequently nominated every year in the same category until 2011. With eight Primetime Emmy nominations for her role as Olivia Benson, Hargitay’s victory in 2006 remains a significant milestone in her career.

Gracie Allen Awards: Celebrating Excellence

Hargitay has also been recognized with four Gracie Allen Awards for her performance on “SVU.” She won the award for Outstanding Female Actor in a Leading Role, Drama in 2004, 2009, 2014, and 2017. The Gracie Allen Awards celebrate exemplary programming created by women, for women, and about women in all facets of media and entertainment. Named after the legendary comedian and entertainer Gracie Allen, these awards highlight Hargitay’s impact on and off-screen.

Gold Derby Nominations: Honorable Mentions

Mariska Hargitay was nominated twice for the Gold Derby Award for her portrayal of Olivia Benson. Although she never took home this particular prize, the nominations are a testament to her consistent and powerful performances. The Gold Derby Awards, originating from an entertainment award prediction website, have become a respected accolade in the industry.

A Legacy of Excellence

Mariska Hargitay’s award-winning journey on “Law & Order: SVU” showcases her remarkable talent and dedication to her craft. From winning the prestigious Golden Globe and Primetime Emmy to being honored multiple times with the Gracie Allen Award, Hargitay’s role as Olivia Benson has left an indelible mark on television history. Her ability to connect with audiences and critics alike ensures that her legacy will continue to inspire for years to come.


Related Posts

Our Privacy policy - © 2024 News